Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alberta: ALL   British Columbia: ALL   Manitoba: ALL   New Brunswick: ALL   Newfoundland & Labrador: ALL   Nova Scotia: ALL   Ontario: ALL   Prince Edward Island: ALL   Quebec: ALL   Saskatchewan: ALL   Territories: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
  • 2022: 1Nov-1Apr2023 2022: 28Jun-18Jul

Above and Beyond

69, Psychiatric Nurse-retired

69, Interpretive Guide

We are a married couple, both 69 years young and in good health. Enjoying retirement, but far from tired. We anticipate and look foreward to ongoing experiences and exploration of the exciting world around us. Location is not a major issue.
COVID has put a damper on travel for everyone, so we have spent the past year in PR waiting it out. We are getting itchy feet once again!
Having left the Yukon a few years ago and have been travelling lightly without a long term home base, but spent the winter of 2015 in a rental in Nelson, B.C., then did a winter farm sit in the Cariboo. Spring of 2017 we drove & tented across Canada to do a house sit in Owen Sound, Ontario in June & August @ same home, Our 2018 three month summer house sit was in Austin Texas where 2 daughters happen to reside, so we toured 10 states as we travelled there & back. For 2019, we were off to a farm sit in Nova Scotia, travelling across country & exploring along the way.
Our minimal possessions include our 4X4 pickup,an ATV, a canoe, camping gear, and basic household items, tho we will sometimes leave the ATV @ our Powell River home.
We have done short home, pet, hobby farm care which we have found rewarding. Our Cariboo farm sit for 5 months included 18 horses and a few cows. Also have cared for horses in Ladysmith, Okanagan Falls, Ft. St. John, & Nova Scotia and have made great friends with each horse as well as ongoing friendships with their people.

We have the greatest respect for other people's property and cleanliness of our environment is essential to our peace of mind. Currently we have no pets of our own but have loved and cared for others' dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, chickens, etc.

Our daughters are all established in their own lives, so we have no dependent children. Lorraine's daughter and her family are currently residing in and caring for the family home in Powell River,BC.

Lorraine is originally from the Sunshine Coast where she grew up in a farming community, operated power boats, and served as a member of Search and Rescue for many years. She is retired from 30 + years nursing at Powell River Hospital, then did travel nursing in B.C., Alberta, and Yukon, often driving long distances into remote communities.

James was born in Toronto and moved across Canada following career advancement opportunities, working 25 plus years in sales, marketing, and management. He also has experience running a very successful home based business. Four years exposure to wilderness living including setting up and maintaining exploration camps in Yukon and NWT, followed by 4 years as a wilderness guide based in Dawson City has enabled him to hone his knowledge and confidence in a non-reliant setting. These experiences have instilled common sense when it comes to problem solving.

Experience and common sense have enabled us to deal with adversity as a couple, being equally supportive of one another. We both cherish the quiet peacefulness of self-sufficiency and off the grid living, yet we are also comfortable in the urban settings and have both done significant travel throughout the USA and Caribbean.

Please consider us as your best and safest option. We both look forward to hearing from you so that we can discuss your needs and how we can fulfill them.

James and Lorraine

 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and potted plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge