House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • British Columbia: Thompson Okanagan  

Your Reliable Sitter

54, Holistic and Nutritional Counsellor

Reliable, Experienced Housesitter available. I have a lot of experience with housecleaning and house sitting - and I love animals! I am especially good with cats - but tend to be an empathic communicator with animals of all kinds :) I am mature, friendly, organized, loving and very clean! I am a non-smoker, non-partier and mostly live quietly. I like to read and write - and am a musician so sometimes will sing a bar or two - very quietly! ;) If you have musical instruments around they might get played a little - and my singing shouldn't make the dog howl! :D
I have no problem with some physical work - snow shovelling, cutting lawns, taking care of your gardens etc - no worries!
I have been looking after other people's homes for many years - much due to my work as a self-employed house-cleaner, and in more recent years have added actual staying and sitting at the homes. I decided to set up this account because I'm wanting to get a bit more serious about house-sitting. My son is grown now and I have that freedom :)

I work mostly from home so just need an internet line to plug into or wifi. I create some local events and work with my clients - mostly by phone. I also do some self-employment merchandising work which is usually mostly seasonal. I do this in the Vernon and Kelowna areas. I currently live in Vernon, but have family in Kelowna and Penticton.

Occasionally my beau will accompany me. He is a cabinet maker by trade and very skilled at any handyman tasks. He is also a well-known musician here in Canada and only visits occasionally thru the year due to his touring schedule. I am happy to provide more information about him upon request.

I have had a beautiful loving pet for the last 16 years who I just lost sadly, but rest assured I will give your furry friends and your home a lot of love! I know how precious our pets are and I think the home is a sanctuary of sorts. I am respectful of your space and will bring only good energy to your home.

Added on note: Just adding this note - I noticed one of my clients mentioning in a review they would've liked more "self-initiated" contact from me. I am generally good at sending pictures and keeping in touch etc - but if YOU are contacting me every day to see how your animal is doing - then I don't need to contact you :). I give people space - if you are away on holidays I won't contact you unless there is a need for it, except for the occasional pics and touch base. You're on vacation! Enjoy yourself! While I do see the need to stay in touch with home-owners - I won't think to check in daily with you, unless that is something you've requested. <3 I am not high-needs and tend to give you your space.
I would love to discuss with you what your needs are and how I can help you out! I have references available upon request. Please don't hesitate to connect if you have questions and thanks for considering me ! ;)

Reviews (4)
Alara left the house cleaner than she took it, and Kitty seemed a bit fatter, always a good sign. However on her own she changed the password to access the Internet network, and it took me hours on the phone to restore the service. The line of communication was a bit intermittent, I will try to improve on that aspect with future house sitters. .
 
LOUIS MARC ( British Columbia, Mar 2024 - 1 week 3 nights)
It’s too bad - I DID NOT change the password on this but if Louis could’ve called me I might’ve been able to help him trouble shoot the problem right away. I didn’t use the wifi but something might have happened when I tried to switch to my Ethernet cable. I’ve never seen this happen before but I ... MORE
Alara provided good care for Hope. She seemed relaxed when we returned after being gone for 5 weeks. We would have appreciated more self initiated contact by Alara - but, she always responded when I contacted her. I would probably discuss this with our next Sitter just to confirm what my expectations are. Our home was very clean when we returned, so I was grateful.
 
BARB ( British Columbia, Feb 2024 - 1 month 1 week)
I didn't have a chance to initiate contact since Barb was in touch with me probably 70-80% of the time! So there was no need and I felt on my end the contact was a lot - and didn't expect to have to stay in touch so much. But yes live and learn, both parties can communicate this in future - I ... MORE
Two thumbs up to Alara for taking such great care of our house and our two female shelties. Special attention and care was provided by Alara to one dog that needed medical attention and care. Highly recommend
 
HARVEY AND LIZ ( British Columbia, Dec 2023 - 1 month 3 weeks)
I am thankful to Alara for taking such good care of my kitty. She also sent regular updates and photos of Allie. I returned home to a clean and well cared for pet and home. I wouldn't hesitate to use Alara again for a sit. Thank you Alara.
 
SUSANNE ( British Columbia, Jul 2023 - 3 weeks)
I look forward to the next time Susanne! Thankyou again and please give love to Allie <3
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and potted plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge