Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada

Make contact - Join for free


Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in Canada
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2022: 29Mar-10May

Vaccinated, mature & experienced in life & travel

49, Life coach/ retired

I have a lot of experience, in life, with travel and with pets! I have been house and pet sitting full time since 2018 with house & pet sits in Canada, Europe, US & Africa. I use multiple platforms (hence not all my sits are here).

Home owner experience:
I have owned my own house for over 25 years and know that your house, is more like a home. It's a space you live and really have your most important moments. I have taken great care of my homes from learning and completing renovations, doing maintenance, landscaping & gardening and dealing with my hot tub. This means I have experience dealing with the most common household challenges that mat arise from flooding, to furnaces not working and fridges that don't quite keep close.

Pet experience:
I have been a pet parent most of my life. I grew up with dogs (mostly standard poodles), gerbils, hamstrs and we even had a rabbit for a period of time. When when I left my parents home, I started with cats! I have had cats in my life for close to 30 years and have dealt with kittens, older cats, cats with health issues or have needs for medications. Since I started pet sitting, I have also gained more experience with dogs, chickens, ducks, rats and rabbits. And I have enjoyed hem all!

Language skills:
My first language is French but most people won't realize that unless I say the names of Canadian cities like Quebec! I speak excellent English and tend to learn at least a few words and phrases in my travels around the world. I believe it is important to make an effort to communicate in local languages when possible.

Work experience:
I had a career with the Canadian govt and Royal Canadian Mounted Police (as a civilian), often working in areas of human rights, equity, privacy and security. At this time, I had top secret clearances and have had regular police checks done in Canada due to some volunteer opportunities I have taken on. I am also a fairly private person - so these combined makes me understand how important it is to make sure that your home and pets are both secure and that your privacy is maintained. So, I will do my best to keep them all safe.

Currently I am retired, and I am slowly debating about rebuilding my 2nd career as a life coach (online and courses - no more one on one sessions) - helping people reach their goals and live their best life. This means that I do need internet access, and that I do spend many hours a day at home working, planning and getting things done. Generally I have a routine of waking up, pets, breakfast, work, then going out for a few hours, back for dinner and then chill with movies, book, or work.

Life & travel experience:
I have been travelling for the last 3 years using RV travel, traditional travel with hotel or airb&b and house and pet sitting, and I have to admit my favorites are RV and house pet sitting. In Canada, I can combine both of these but when I leave Canada - I love pet sitting. It gives me the comforts of home and pets! So I get to "try on" a version of your life!

This means that I take on the same responsibilities in your home that you would normally do, from taking care of your pets, to cutting the grass, shoveling the snow, cleaning the kitchen & bathrooms and all the other fun stuff. I like to leave my house sit, neat and tidy. I would like to say you would never guess I was there, but I like to cook, and the reality is that it's happened on more than one occasion where I have prepared meals, baked bread or left snacks for my home owners return! However it has happened that I may have placed something in a different than you so there may be a few misplaced items (ie: I have bee known to leave the toaster on the counter when you usually keep it on the counter). But I make every effort to make your return home nice.

So with all my life experiences, I think I can help you and deal with most situations that can arise during a house sit. I also like to keep in ongoing communication - re-assure you that all is well - and send pics of your pets (if applicable).

However, if your particular situation is something I don't think I can handle, I will be sure to let you know and we can discuss. The reality is that not every house sitter is the right fit for your home, just as not every home is the right fit for me as a house sitter.

Be well, stay safe and let's chat soon!

Reviews (8)
Anik was fantastic. We under estimated how good she would be. Never thought I would be able to go away stress free. I was terrified at the idea of leaving all of my animals and she recognized it and reassured me at every step. Constant communication making me feel at ease. We have ducks & chickens both of which she had little to no experience with and took care of everything perfectly. She devoted lots of extra time to our pup with anxiety problems without making our other dog feel at ... MORE
VICKI ( Quebec, Aug 2020 - 8 days)
We had to cut our original booking from 6 weeks to 4 due to unexpectedly buying a house between the time we booked and Anik's arrival date. Anik was very accommodating on that change and understanding about staying in a half empty house surrounded by boxes, with most of the cooking requirements inadvertently packed! Nina was well cared for, and bonded immediately with Anik, . Our beloved old SUV remained in good order and everything in the house too. Quite apart from her pet caring skills, ... MORE
BRIDGET ( British Columbia, Mar 2022 - 1 month 2 weeks)
Thank you. Always a pleasure to be in communication with you!
It was so wonderful to leave on our trip knowing that Anik was staying in our home and looking after not only our cat Zoe but also 11 chickens and a rooster! She provided us with so much information about herself and the house sitting process that, as first timers, we felt confident that she would be able to do the job. With the chickens she had the added responsibility to handle the daily production of eggs which meant keeping track of the dates they were gathered and preparing them and ... MORE
ANNE ( Nova Scotia, Oct 2021 - 2 weeks)
Anik agreed to a last minute housesit when my family and I made a last minute decision to visit family we hadn't seen in two years. We have not been part of a house sitting community in some time and even though we were a bit rusty, she was very helpful in getting us through it. She was self sufficient, clean and reliable. Most importantly, she maintained great communication from the moment we agreed on the house sit. During her stay, we had regular text and photo updates on our kitty. We ... MORE
KRYSTAL ( Ontario, Aug 2021 - 1 week 3 days)
Anik knew my pets from a previous visit and even remembered many of the details for their personalities. A new addition was a feral foster cat, and while he had difficulties adjusting, she was very communicative, providing updates and details, answering my enquiries timely, and willing to try different things to accommodate. Appreciated her efforts to focus on him, and her care of my cats was great! The house was left in good condition and there were some delicious home cooking and baking ... MORE
SONIA ( Ontario, Dec 2020 - 5 days - 1 of 2 endorsements from this owner )
Anik has sat for me twice now. First in November 2019 for two months and recently October - December 2020. Anik is an outstanding house sitter, attentive and responsible. She loves spending time with my cat and he clearly enjoys her loving care. She is knowledgeable and is able to spot any potential changes in health and behaviours. She shares photos frequently and communicates well, checking and confirming when questions arise. Anik has made housesitting her lifestyle. She is ... MORE
DIANA (Nepean , Oct 2020 - 1 month 3 weeks)
Anik was a joy to have in our home. She is super quick to respond to any messages and provided updates and pics on a regular basis. Our animals were very well cared for (made evident by the fact that they were happy and playful upon our return.) I was impressed that Anik was proactive about a minor medical issue while we were unreachable. One of our dogs had a hot spot on her flank and Anik ensured that Missy was unable to bother it. Sure, Missy was unimpressed with the "cone of shame" but ... MORE
THEA ( Ontario, Oct 2019 - Oct 15 -Oct 24)
It was great to have Anik take care of my two cats, Banjo & Kazoo, and home in Ottawa, She asked all the right questions ahead of time, supported my home prep since it was my first experience with housesitting, and sent updates as requested during her time at my place. I felt very comfortable being away with my cats in her experienced hands. Especially since one of them got unexpectedly sick before I was leaving, so having Anik's experience with animals was comforting to know that she would ... MORE
SONIA ( Ontario, Sep 2019 - 2 weeks - 2 of 2 endorsements from this owner )
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge