Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in Canada

Stacie and Johnny

31, Translator

35, Editor

** Availability: from March 2020 onwards **

Hello! Bonjour! We're Stacie (31) and Johnny (35), international house sitters from the UK who specialise in long-term sits. We met over seven years ago at university whilst studying for our PhDs and got married in 2017. We've taken the opportunity to get out of the 9-to-5 and work freelance whilst house sitting around the world. We want to experience life in some new places and meet some new (four-legged!) friends.

We began house sitting in June 2018, became full-time sitters in September 2018, and have completed single and multiple pet sits of varying lengths (from a weekend to two months) in the UK, France, Germany, South Korea, and Japan. We have looked after cats (indoor and outdoor, from 5 months to 18 years old), dogs (including puppies and large dogs), goldfish, and a parrot. We have a lot of experience with rescue cats and dogs, so we are aware of the specific needs that they may have. Most importantly, we take the time to really get to know the pets we sit for and adapt our approach to their requirements. We understand the importance of maintaining a normal routine and will do so diligently while you're away.

On previous sits, we have taken pets to the vets (routine and emergency), administered oral medication to cats and dogs, and even rescued a kitten from a tree(!!). Since we work remotely, there'll be an almost constant human presence in your home, keeping it safe and sound and providing a high degree of company to your pets. We promise to keep you updated as much (or as little) as you like and will leave your home clean and tidy.

We're a non-smoking couple, capable of looking after a variety of pets, respectful of properties and the environment, and highly considerate of other cultures. Johnny's family had dogs and birds, and Stacie grew up around cats and rabbits. We're very active and practical people who enjoy walking and cycling, and are always willing to learn new skills. Whilst house sitting, we have managed open fires and wood burners, changed gas canisters, and arranged for repairs to be carried out. Stacie is fluent in French and speaks basic German and Italian. We both have full, clean UK driving licences and International Driving Permits (1949 and 1968 conventions). We have experience of driving abroad in left- and right-hand, manual and automatic cars, and have used cars provided by house owners without any issues.

Stacie is a translator, writer, and an online English teacher. She previously worked as a university lecturer and on gender equality, professional development, and social mobility projects for the universities of Oxford and Bristol. She has extensive experience working with children and young people (with all necessary police checks in place). Johnny used to work in publishing (Oxford University Press) as an Operations Manager where he supervised an office team. He currently takes on copyediting, proofreading, and writing projects. We are open to house sitting opportunities across the world; all we need is a reliable internet connection.

Having both been drawn into the 9-to-5 after finishing our PhDs, we decided to become location independent freelancers to achieve a better work-life balance and to give us time to pursue our research and writing interests. Since September 2018, we have built our entire life around full-time house sitting abroad. For us, house sitting presents real opportunities to see the world more as a local than a tourist, experience different ways of living, and meet new people - and their pets! Though having grown up around animals, we were not able to have pets when we lived in the UK. We thoroughly enjoy this lifestyle and are dedicated to it for the foreseeable future.

We are very friendly, trustworthy, enthusiastic, and hardworking people; we will respect your home and provide your pets with fun and caring company.

 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, house and garden - you can really relax. Happy days.

Feefo badge