House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada

Make contact - Join for free


House Sitting Preferences
  • 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
  • horses, donkeys, chickens, goats

Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in Canada
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2024: 3Sep-5Jan2025 2024: 1Mar-10Jul


63, Retired

Hi there! I’m Cheryl, retired, and have begun my next career as a nomad. I’m a vegetarian, non-smoker, non-drinker, no drugs, and generally live a healthy lifestyle. I’m from the West Coast of Canada, and did housesitting in my 20s before I became a homeowner. That was when it became my turn to find honest, trustworthy housesitters so I know what you’re thinking as you read my profile. Is this the person who will treat my home and pets respectfully and not cause any problems? Yes! You have found me!

I’ve owned horses and dogs most of my life. After my last dog passed away, I decided to become a not-quite-grey housesitter. My horse is in boarding. Yes, I have an expensive pasture ornament living the good life on my nickel. I’m an experienced horsewoman who knows the difference between taking care of minor injuries on my own or if it’s time to call a vet. Besides horses and dogs, I’ve also owned cats, mini-donkeys, rabbits, ducks, and chickens. I’m comfortable around animals of all sizes.

I’m a former volunteer at Dogwood Dog Rescue. They specialized in sporting breeds, and when I owned a house I fostered Weimaraners, German Short Haired Pointers, German Wirehaired Pointers, Wirehaired Griffons, Labradors, and even a Munsterlander. Currently I'm in the Caribbean volunteering with an animal welfare organization. I'm looking ahead to the fall and would love a long term housesit. Any snowbirds heading south for the winter? I'd especially love to get back to the Greater Vancouver Area or Kamloops.

I’m experienced at giving medications to animals. Senior animals who need extra TLC? Here I am! Not a problem at all if your pets like to sleep on the bed with me.

My hobbies are horseback riding, walking, photography, swimming, reading, and traveling.

So, why am I a not-quite-grey housesitter? I’ve whittled my worldly possessions down to a suitcase and laptop bag and want to experience different countries and cultures and live like a local. I love animals and while I’m a nomad, it’s not fair to own a dog. But I know there are dogs out there who would love to go walkies and get loved on while their parents are on vacation.

I sold my car when I left Canada. I’d love a housesit where a car is available but it’s not a dealbreaker. I can provide my clean driving profile. I have a motorbike license, and owned a Suzuki Burgman for 20 years. If you have a Vespa and a spare helmet, I’d love to ride it! Just call me Scooter Girl!

I'm pretty much a homebody so I'm there to take dogs out for potty breaks every couple of hours with one or two longer walks. I live quietly and treat your house and belongings respectfully. I'm not nosy and have no interest in snooping through your stuff. If I sound like a good fit for your vacation plans, please shoot me a message!

Reviews (3)
Cheryl is a fantastic house sitter. She looked after our house and cats for six weeks over Christmas 2023/24. When we left for our trip, we felt we were leaving our house and two cats in good hands, and we were right! Cheryl clearly takes the responsibility of house and pet sitting seriously and does it really well. She kept in regular touch with us while we were away, sending photos and anecdotes about the cats. We would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone looking for a house or pet ... MORE
RACHEL (Folkestone England, Dec 2023 - 1 month 1 week) From House Sitters UK
It was a pleasure to have Cheryl to stay to look after our fur babies recently whilst we were away, we returned to happy, healthy dogs and cats and very much appreciate how well they were looked after and that each of our pets needs were met, our cats are quite simple to look after but the 3 dogs have different food and walking routines. We would definitely recommend Cheryl to other people look for pet/house sitters.
LINDA (Marston Magna, Yeovil England, Aug 2023 - 2 weeks 2 nights) From House Sitters UK
Cheryl was a very lovely sitter and we felt super happy leaving Blue in her care. We didn’t hear from her while we were away and so assumed no news was good news! Really grateful to have had her 😊
NIC (Bristol England, Aug 2023 - 1 week) From House Sitters UK
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and potted plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge