House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada

Make contact - Join for free


House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
  • I grew up in Alberta around horses, chickens, pigs, cats, dogs and many other farm animals. It's been a few years, but I know how to ride horses, groom most animals, clean paddocks, stalls and cages. I'm energetic, strong, a quick learner, and am not afraid of hard work.

Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in Canada
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2024: 13 Jun - 18 Jul

Resuming Bookings February 2024


I am now completely booked Winter 2023 - Spring 2024. Thank you for considering me. I look forward to chatting with you in February when bookings reopen!

I’m a 31 year old (used-to-be-single-catlady). I'm still single, but my sweet angel of 16 (tuxedo cat named Zu) crossed over the rainbow bridge this year. Many of my friends say she lived so long because of all the love she got.

Fast forward to now. I'm currently living in a communal home with 6 ducks, 2 guinea pigs, a cat, a dog and over 1500 plants that I grew from seed this spring.

Adventure calls and it's time for me to leave the nest. I've finally secured my dream job, working remotely for an environmental monitoring company. I've worked with the company since the spring, and am able to do my job completely remotely.

I've lived on Vancouver Island for the past ten years. In that time I trained as a cook, a cleaner, a personal assistant. and wound up working as a Logistical Coordinator / Human Resource Manager. In that time I also completed my BSc.

I grew up with a lovely family dog, and was known to always meet cat friends on walks. I was never allowed to get a cat growing up due to family being allergic, figures that as soon as I moved out I ended up with sweet Zu.
I was however as a child, allowed to have two bunnies (Hoodini and Blackberry), a guinea pig (Alice) and a fish (Pablo-Louise).

My grandma lived on a farm we would often visit, which had dogs, alpaca, miniature horses, barn cats and a pot-belly pig named Penelope. It is from her that I probably get my love of animals.

My other grandma was always in her garden, and adored Roses. She had every flower under the sun, and a massive apple tree. She taught me from a young age how to garden, and I can remember her knocking on my parent's door as a kid, and getting me to go and pick the raspberries from the backyard with her and then together we would make jam.

My mom has the biggest green-thumb I think I've ever seen. One winter I flew back to visit, and in a cold prairie province of Canada, the woman had a Hibiscus almost 6 feet tall that was flowering.. in December!

In a nutshell, I am an energetic animal lover, who adores plants and animals of all kinds. My computer job allows me to work remotely and travel freely and I can monitor pets / give walks / cuddles throughout the day. Quite honestly, I need to take myself for walks to get away from the screen, and cuddling animals always helps to solve tough computer problems!

I would be honoured to spend my time taking care of your creatures and exploring your neighbourhood, and hope to chat with you further soon. :-)

Reviews (7)
Madeline was fantastic, I definitely recommend her as a house sitter. Clear communication, responded quickly and responsible. The house and cat were well looked after and it was a great experience overall. Thank you!
GILLIAN ( British Columbia, Apr 2024 - 1 week)
MJ went over and above and we hope we can have her sit our cat again some day. She gave us regular updates and left our place cleaner than she found it! Often our cat is very clingy when we get back from travels, but this time she was super chill, which suggests that she got lots of attention and affection while were gone.
MARIANA ( British Columbia, Apr 2024 - 1 week 2 nights)
I returned from my trip to find Archer happy and healthy. My place was perfectly clean and tidy. MJ communicated well throughout the duration of my trip / her sit. And she was accommodating in coordinating schedules for her arrival and departure. Great experience overall.
CAMERON ( British Columbia, Apr 2024 - 1 week 2 nights)
MJ was such a fabulous find! We were confident leaving her with our cat after a quick interview and realizing she knew more about cat care than we did. Communication was great (lots of photo updates), and we came home to a very happy cat, a perfectly clean home and – bonus! – banana bread. We would recommend and would book again 😊.
COURTNEY ( British Columbia, Mar 2024 - 3 weeks)
Madeleine did a fine job of taking care of my plants and kitty. i never worried while I was gone, she regularly sent pictures and updates.
SUZANNE ( British Columbia, Jan 2024 - 1 month 1 week)
Madeleine was my first cat sitter and I couldn’t be happier with my experience. She has been tremendously helpful, accommodating and kind every step of the way. My cats loved her and I came home to an apartment in pristine condition. Thank you Madeleine!
LAURA (Montréal Quebec, Dec 2023 - 4 weeks)
I recently had the pleasure of having Madeleine take care of my home and cat, Teddy, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. From the first point of contact, she exuded professionalism and warmth, instantly putting my mind at ease. Throughout the house sitting period, Madeleine demonstrated a remarkable level of responsibility and care for my property. Teddy was not only well-fed and taken care of, but he also received plenty of love and attention. Madeleine was prompt with ... MORE
ALIA (NORTH VANCOUVER British Columbia, Oct 2023 - 20 days)
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge