Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alberta: Central, Edmonton & Rockies, South & Calgary   British Columbia: Cariboo Chilcotin Coast, Kootenay Rockies, Thompson Okanagan, Vancouver Coast & Mountains, Vancouver Island  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
  • 2022: 19May-21Jun | 13Jul-27Jul | 28Jul-1Aug | 8Aug-25Aug | 1Dec-31Jan2023

Quiet and respectful home and fur-baby care!!

Writer/Graphic & Web Design

Hello! My name is Christy and I am a digital nomad who, up until recently, was residing in the home of one of my dearest friends (with her, her daughter, their sweet pooch Sage, and their kitty Bootsy) in the lower mainland, after selling my house last summer. I often would care for her home and animals (and even her child for a number of years, as "nanny" - really just "Auntie Christy"), and have dog-sat for a few other friends and folks over the past few years.

I am still considering where I may want to lay down some roots...eventually. Covid made travel so difficult - mostly impossible for a time - my wanderlust was making it hard to stay in one place for very long, so I decided that perhaps housesitting was the perfect solution for a while!

[I am currently on a month-long housesit in Victoria, BC, where I am caring for a 4 year old Golden Retriever named Blue, and 3 lively Polish Hat chickens, who are actually incredibly sweet and friendly! This is my second housesit, beginning just 3 days after a 2-month stint in Alberta! I am booked through the summer to the end of August, and am aiming to housesit through the fall and winter, into next spring 2023, at which time I will decide where I will lay down some roots!]

A former firefighter and research scientist who spent almost a decade in cancer research at UBC and the BC Cancer Agency, I am a mature single woman, now deeply immersed in my writing, studies (I am working on my certifications for a role in End of Life Care) and digital work, who lives a very quiet and healthy lifestyle. I need to get outside everyday, and I do...taking my hour and a half walk no matter the weather - and boy, did we ever have some weather last fall and winter!!! I am a HUGE walker! So excited that Spring has arrived! I also try and get into nature as much as I can - hiking, climbing challenging mountains, and even trail running (sometimes. When my knees and ankles decide *not* to act their age!).

When home, I do a lot of self-work in the form of meditation, yoga, listening to podcasts and voraciously reading (I have about 5 books on the go currently!). I love to do everything I can to nourish myself - body, mind and soul! This means experimenting with food and cooking as well, which I never used to like, but have grown to really enjoy. I do not smoke, very rarely drink (perhaps a nice glass of Syrah nursed in the evening with a good book from time to time) and am an early to bed/early to rise kinda gal. I'm also a lover of exploring new places. In Alberta, I set off on a number of long day road-trip excursions, which took me to various places...visiting a wolfdog sanctuary, hiking in the Rockies, seeing the sunrise from the bison national park (Elk Island), and (more locally) attending a candlelight classical music event (where a beautiful string quartet played Vivaldi's Four Seasons - my favourite piece of classical music ever!), and visiting the Art Gallery of Alberta.

I am incredibly neat, responsible, and reliable, and have always lived by the rule to return something borrowed in the same condition as when I got it - whether it be fingerless neon gloves I borrowed from a friend in the 80s - or your home. :) I have house-sat (and pet-sat...and plant-sat!) for a few different people, and they all either would have, or HAVE requested my sitting on subsequent occasions. I have a pretty special connection with animals - they seem to adore me...I suppose that's because I adore them! People seem to think I'm pretty alright too ;-)

I am fully vaccinated for COVID, and have a vehicle.

Update: After this month in Victoria, I have 4 more sits booked. 6 sets of strangers are taking a chance on this gal! I hope you will too!! :)

Reviews (2)
Christy did a fantastic job of looking after our house and pets while we were overseas for a month. We have quite a large backyard, and Christy kept the lawns mowed and everything looking tidy and well kept. Our dog ended up with overwhelming separation anxiety after 2 weeks of us being away, which meant he needed to be put in a kennel for the remaining 2 weeks for everyone's sanity (including his own!) but for the 2 weeks that Christy had him in her care, she sent regular photos and updates ... MORE
 
NICOLE ( British Columbia, May 2022 - 4 weeks)
Christy was a fabulous house sitter and is a great person overall! We hit it off from the first video call "interview" and it felt like I was "hiring" a friend to take care of my house. She did a fabulous job of taking care of my house and tended to the outside through the ever changing conditions given the interesting spring Alberta had. She communicated well and provided updates on everything throughout her stay. We swapped stories of our adventures and kept each other informed of how life ... MORE
 
PAULA ( , Mar 2022 - 2 months)
 
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge