Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s)
  • Yes
Preferred Locations
  • British Columbia: Cariboo Chilcotin Coast, Northern BC, Vancouver Coast & Mountains, Vancouver Island   Ontario: Central, Golden Horseshoe (Durham, Halton, Niagara, Peel, York), National Capital, Northern (Algoma, Greater Sudbury, Kenora, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Thunder Bay), Southwest (Brant, Bruce, Grey, Lambton, Waterloo, Wellington)   Territories: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Mar
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
  • 2021: 9Feb-8Mar
  • On a house-sit right now

Outdoorsy Dog Lovers

58, Self Employed

59, Self Employed

Hello, we're Anne and Bill Ostrom, a semi-retired couple originally from Northwestern Ontario, Canada. We are very responsible, and take a professional and fastidious approach to everything we do. We are experienced house and pet sitters and your home and animal family will be well taken care of. Adventurous by nature, we both love the outdoors and travel, including hiking, canoe camping, snorkelling, cycling and skiing. So far, we've house sit in suburban settings in all seasons in Canada, including the dead of winter. We are looking to house-sit world-wide.

We both love dogs and have babysat numerous times for friends, both in our own home and in theirs. We take the time to get to know your rules and commands, their routine and preferences. Then give them lots of snuggles and love while in our care. We both love to walk, and your dogs will get plenty of exercise. Anne also enjoys grooming/brushing big fuzzy dogs, like the ones in the photos. We've also looked after fish, feeding them daily.

We lived in a rural area for 20 years and also own a cottage on a lake. So we are familiar with pumps, wells, composting toilets, and dealing with house maintenance and emergencies in the dead of a snowy winter. As well, we lived in a rustic cabin with propane lights/stove and no running water in the early years of our marriage and currently travel off the grid with a camper van. This gives us lots of experience with propane, wood heat, trail maintenance etc. We've always had a vegetable garden, and enjoy being outside weeding and harvesting.

We believe in leaving your house in as good a condition as when you left, if not better. We're willing to help with the upkeep while you're gone, and have experience supervising staff.

We're interested in house and pet sitting because it gives us the chance to spend time in new places and meet new people. Spending time in a community instead of a hotel means that we can get to know the locals and the culture. We've no dogs of our own anymore, and we miss them. The opportunity to dog sit fills that void.

We've done a variety of suburban house sits for friends in our home town in Ontario. In one house we made sure we followed instructions around keeping their home "peanut-free" because their grandson is deathly allergic. Our current 2-month house and dog sit is in a mountain town in Alberta Canada. We are responsible for keeping the house clean and "lived in", and looking after two 90 pound husky dogs. We take them on daily walks of 45-90 minutes in all winter weather and brush them frequently to ensure their fur doesn't mat. Prior to this, we looked after some of our friends' dogs in our home in Thunder Bay Ontario. We babysat Molly, an energetic husky, for 2 weeks and made sure we got out for 2 walks a day, despite the 10 below (Fahrenheit) temperatures and wind chill. We also looked after Doby for a few days and helped her get over her anxiety of being away from her human family with lots of attention, playing with a ball, and walks. We love dogs, and dogs love us. They are always bouncing around, happy to see us when we come back for a visit.

Reviews (1)
So blessed to have connected with Anne and Bill. They both truly love dogs and our dogs (Buddy and Bree) adored them. My husband and I and Buddy and Bree feel we have made new life long friends. Anne and Bill kept the dogs active, entertained and loved! They were both amazing at quickly picking up the dogs routines and maintaining consistency. The regular communication including daily photos was so very appreciated. Never had a moment of concern while we were away. When we returned the ... MORE
 
STAR AND DAVE (Iron Bridge Ontario, Jun 2019 - 1 week 1 day)
 
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge