Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • British Columbia: Kootenay Rockies, Thompson Okanagan, Vancouver Coast & Mountains, Vancouver Island   Ontario: Golden Horseshoe (Toronto), National Capital (Ottawa)   Quebec: Montreal and Southwestern (MontrĂ©al)  

LOVING AND RELIABLE CARETAKER FOR YOUR HOME & PETS

59, Personal Growth Counsellor (Masters in Counselling)

About me:

I am a mature woman - 59 years young - who is known by others to be very capable, reliable, open-hearted and giving. I have a B.A. in Psychology, a B.Ed. in Teaching, and a Masters in Counselling.

I am spending the next couple of years designing workshops to help individuals deal with the various challenges of life and the issues that arise in our shared experience of being human. As I have not found an organization that funds this specific type of creative endeavour, I am looking to house-sit in order to help support myself through the process.

In exchange, I would love to offer someone away from home, overall peace of mind regarding their property, and, of course, their beloved pets if they have any.

I am someone who believes in the fullest win-win for everyone in all situations, and so I can always be counted on to do more than my share with respect to those I am in contact with.

In addition, I love to walk and be outdoors, and if the situation requires it, would truly enjoy sharing that experience with an equally enthusiastic four-legged companion.

About My Experience:

I have completed four live-in house-sitting engagements, and have thoroughly enjoyed the experiences. Two sits were for the same house and dog(s) owner who asked me to return a second time since the original placement had gone so smoothly. The third was for a cat owner, a long-term friend, who wanted me to care for her kitty and household while she was away on family matters abroad. And the fourth was a six-week sit for neighbours of mine whom I had formerly, over the course of a few years, collected mail, shovelled snow, and watched over their house for while away for various periods of time. (This couple has invited me to return to sit for them into the future.)

I am also currently in the middle of my fifth house/pet-sitting assignment, and so am the new 'best friend' to a lovely Maine Coon cross cat. The arrangement has been going extremely well, We've been happy house-mates from January till mid-May of this past year. And we will soon be re-united for part two of the sit which runs until Dec 27th, 2019.

In addition to my recent house/pet-sitting engagements, in my very early years, I had a number of live-in work placement experiences, supporting people with terminal illness as well as the elderly, and also a two-year position as a live-in nanny. Thus, I have lived in others' homes numerous times and been a trusted member of the family and household. As well as caring for those in need within the home, each job had additionally included the general management of practical affairs with respect to the home-front.

As well, I have lived on my own on the main floor of a three-level house for over two decades, and so know how to deal with residential practicalities. In keeping with this theme, I've been the main support to landlords in the care-taking of the premises, i.e. shovelling snow, taking out garbage, collecting mail, being there for plumbers, electricians, workmen and such, as needed.

Through the years I have had my own cats and a dog, and love animals. My pets have passed on, with my dog leaving somewhat recently. And so I'm on my own again. However, I'm currently a beloved 'step-mother' to a lovely poodle that belongs to a new friend whom I share regular outings with. And I always have an open heart for more feline and canine connections.

I would love to connect with someone who is looking for a trustworthy person who will care for their home as if it were their own, and if they have any cats or dogs, one who'd love their pets whole-heartedly.

So if I, in any way, sound like the right person for your needs, please don't hesitate to contact me. We can explore the potential and further details. And I can provide references for you at that time should you wish them.

Please note: As I am currently fulfilling a sit, my availability starts on Dec 27, 2019.

Thanks so much.

Teri

Reviews (2)
I would highly recommend Teri. Teri took excellent care of my condo and my pet during my travels. Communication was always quick and efficient. She has been flexible with working with my future travel plans and I sure that Frankie (cat) is looking forward to having Teri back to look after him during my next extended trip.
 
KATHRYN ( British Columbia, Jan 2019 - 4 months)
No rating Terri is a lovely person who took great care of our two dogs and fish. The dogs were out and about with Teri and looked like they had a great time. Teri left the house neat as a pin. We would definitely ask Teri to house sit for us when we travel again.
CAMILLA ( Ontario, Jul 2018 - 1 week 6 days)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and potted plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge