Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters Canada

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for Canada
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alberta: Central, Edmonton & Rockies, South & Calgary   British Columbia: ALL   Manitoba: Central Plains, Interlake, Winnipeg   New Brunswick: ALL   Newfoundland & Labrador: ALL   Nova Scotia: ALL   Prince Edward Island: ALL   Quebec: Montreal and Southwestern, Québec City and Central, Southeastern   Saskatchewan: Central, Southeast, Southwest   Territories: ALL  

Caring, Trustworthy Home & Pet Care

66, Retired (Health/Education Asst School)

67, Retired (Psychologist)

Hello!

We are a retired couple (5 years), travelling the world and home & pet sitting along the way. We enjoy our semi-nomadic lifestyle and also love to settle in and care for others' pets and homes from time to time. Healthy, active non-smokers, we are also big animal lovers and welcome the opportunity to give our attention to & love to your pets. We delight in time in the outdoors and the chance to be out in the yard pulling weeds or harvesting, hiking, dog walking, cycling and exploring your area. We even spent a 6 week period one recent winter shovelling snow at a house sit in small town Quebec.

We have been giving excellent care to homes and pets while their owners travel for several years now, and have many 5 star reviews at our website listed under kathperreault dot net, under the menu heading Home & Pet Sitting References. We are registered and have completed sits through this platform, as well as Trusted House Sitters, Mind My House, Housecarers and through private referrals. We have been invited to return to every sit we have done, and have been given excellent references. Please contact us for further details.

We particularly love the exchange aspect to home and pet sitting arrangements: that we can offer top rate care for your home & pets in exchange for a resting spot for a time, is such a win-win. As well, we appreciate the human connection and have made long term friendships through this experience, both with pets and their owners. Not the same experience as renting a hotel room or even AirBNB accommodation, that is for sure!

We have been long term home and pet owners during our working years, and fully understand the responsibility required in the maintenance of a home. We view pets as family members, to be cared for as such. We are clean, reliable home and pet caregivers and will always give yours excellence in care. With us caring for your home and pets, you will travel with peace of mind and return to find both in top notch condition.

We have cared for many homes and pets in recent years. Two summers ago, we house sat and cared for a paraplegic Yorkie-Poo, a little dog with no use of his hind legs. He required 2 - 3 daily walks in his wheelchair as well as physio exercises to build muscle strength. He needed help with toiletting, which may sound an odious task, but is actually nothing when you love the pet (as many pet owners will understand). It was most gratifying to see him transformed from a subdued, confused little fellow (by his recent loss of the ability to walk) to a confident walker, eager to explore and sniff at the world in his wheelchair. The home also has a large garden which required regular care, fruit picking and preserving, lawn mowing and watering, all of which we took on energetically.

Summer 2018 we cared for a little dachshund in Victoria for 3.5 months May-August 2018, and enjoyed immensely his quirky personality. This care situation was the opposite to our last winter sit in Costa Rica, where we attended to 13 (!) rescue pets in a remote jungle location for 10 weeks. Despite the work load, we came up with systems and routines to make it successful and it was a most enriching experience. We came away attached to the dogs and cats, and continue to track their progress. Over Christmas 2018, we cared for two pug-mixes, a mom & son, in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, over the 2 week Christmas break, giving them their daily jungle run and caring for the needs of their home. We spent 3 spring weeks in New York City, caring for two cats until the end of March 2019, a vibrant time. From there it was across the continent to Salt Spring Island and the rural life with 10 chickens and Maizey the yellow lab - a lovely spot, home and sweet natured dog. After that we completed a 7 week sit in Victoria BC with senior kitty Madeleine until late June, enjoying being settled in for a time in a comfortable location, with nearby cycling on the Galloping Goose trail.

We spent early 2019 to early 2020 on an extended UK/European adventure, involving both sitting and independent travel, and, fortunately, arrived back in Victoria Canada just before travel restrictions around Covid 19 were put in place. We have had most of our ensuing Victoria sits (6 months arranged) cancel due to the pandemic, and had just one remaining for the month of September 2020. We did acquire another 2 sits once restrictions lightened last summer: One for the month of August in Victoria with two cute dogs and the month of October at a rural sit with 2 calves, chickens and a border collie near Kamloops. So our experience is plentiful and varied. We are currently living in the South Okanagan in a rental, and waiting for travel to become a safe choice again.

Though my partner, Aaron, and I enjoy exploring every part of the world that we encounter, when sitting your pets and home - they will always be our priority. We will treat your home, pets and garden as though it is our own.

Reviews (2)
No rating After spending much time under warm skies, Kath and Aaron wanted to experience a 'winter'. Their wish was more than fulfilled as it turned out to be the coldest and most snowy winter in history. To make matters worse, my snow shoveler never turned up. However, they never complained and got on with dressing up warmly and shoveling. When I came back after 6 weeks in Mexico, the house was spotless, the fridge full and Kath had even cooked a delicious curry for me. My dog Cajou 'velcroed' himself ... MORE
LOUISE ( Quebec, Jan 2019 - 1 month 2 weeks)
Kath and Aaron are fabulous house sitters. During their stay, they were very conscientious exhibiting utmost attention to detail. The instructions we left were followed exactly, and they left everything in excellent order. They took great care of our two dogs, keeping us informed of their health and well-being, particularly as one contracted an allergic and breathing irritation. Kath and Aaron are both good communicators and kept us well informed as their stay progressed. My wife and I ... MORE
 
PHILIP ( British Columbia, Aug 2020 - 1 month 1 week)
 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, house and garden - you can really relax. Happy days.

Feefo badge